All the Pretty Horses: Book 1 of The Border Trilogy

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2010 M08 11 - 320 páginas
The national bestseller and the first volume in Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy, All the Pretty Horses is the tale of John Grady Cole, who at sixteen finds himself at the end of a long line of Texas ranchers, cut off from the only life he has ever imagined for himself.  With two companions, he sets off for Mexico on a sometimes idyllic, sometimes comic journey to a place where dreams are paid for in blood.  Winner of the National Book Award for Fiction.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

Calificaciones de los usuarios

5 estrellas
4 estrellas
3 estrellas
2 estrellas
1 estrella

Crítica de los usuarios - Marcar como inadecuado

What an incredible book! As I read this novel I kept thinking how it's like sipping a fine bourbon ... smooth, easy going and a rich story.

Crítica de los usuarios - Marcar como inadecuado

Doris Dixon reviews ALL THE PRETTY HORSES by Cormac McCarthy (Knopf, 1992):
As much as I love watching movies, I usually avoid films based on my favorite books. The film "Beloved" offers a good
example of why I prefer to either read the book or watch the movie. Oprah Winfrey's production followed the Toni Morrison novel too closely. A movie that was its own artistic statement (that took more chances, asserted more liberties, made more leaps) would have been a far greater tribute to Morrison's masterpiece.
Having been captivated by the book, I vow never to watch the film "All The Pretty Horses." The novel tells the story of sixteen-year old John Grady Cole, a skilled horseman. Perhaps his talents would have been better appreciated in an earlier age. Now, three years after the end of World War II, highways and fences spoil the traditional terrain of the cowboy. When his grandfather dies and his mother, more interested in professional acting than ranching, sells the family land, John Grady and his friend Lacey Rawlins flee Southern Texas on horseback. They cross into Mexico at the Rio Grande. There they meet another Anglo teen on horseback. Jimmy Blevins is younger (perhaps only thirteen) and dangerous (his beautiful horse may be stolen). Against Rawlins' advice, John Grady allows Jimmy to join them.
As they ride, they notice an approaching thunderstorm. Having been struck by lightning before, Jimmy is terrified. He tries to outrun the storm, then dismounts, strips naked, and hides to avoid being struck again. His horse, clothes, and gun are washed away. Later, when the boys try to reclaim Jimmy’s horse and gun in a nearby village, the townsmen chase them through the countryside and the trio is separated. John Grady and Rawlins seek refuge at a vast estate. John Grady finds work there as horse trainer, Rawlins as a vaquero or cowboy. John Grady falls in love with the rancher’s daughter while his companion enjoys the company of the other workers. Their sanctuary and life as cowboys are ruined when Jimmy reappears.
I enjoyed this book for many reasons. It as an odyssey and a coming-of-age story. The hero, admirable because of his integrity, confronts cruelty and violence on his quest to live as cowboys did in the previous century. McCarthy’s language is both spare and lyrical, the dialogue in everyday English and Spanish. I found the setting engaging as well. Because of the intimate ways in which his characters interact with their surroundings, McCarthy’s vivid descriptions of the terrain were appealing even though I sometimes do not care for such elaborate details. McCarthy also lovingly depicts horses.
John Grady's story is the first volume of McCarthy’s Border Trilogy. Volume two is The Crossing. Cities of the Plain concludes the series.
Doris Dixon, Raleigh Branch Library

Páginas seleccionadas


Chapter I
Chapter II
Chapter III
Chapter IV
Derechos de autor

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (2010)

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in 1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), and All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992.

Información bibliográfica